University of Minnesota
myU OneStop

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is the University of
Minnesota's school of policy and planning.

State and Local Policy Program

Advisory Group

The Public and Nonprofit Leadership Center (PNLC) Advisory Group is composed of local, state, and national leaders in the fields of public, nonprofit and philanthropic sectors.  They are appointed by the Humphrey School Dean for a three-year term and may be re-appointed for up to one additional term.  Advisory Group members advise and assist the Center director, staff, and faculty in: 


  • Implementing the Center’s mission and programs
  • Identifying and developing financial resources necessary for the Center’s work
  • Representing and helping to identify the needs of public, nonprofit, and philanthropic leaders and institutions
  • Promoting public understanding of the Center’s work 
  • Evaluation and critical reflection on the Center’s performance in improving capacities among public affairs professionals

Members of the PNLC Advisory Group:

  • Michael Anderson, Senior Financial Analyst, Margaret A. Cargill Foundation
  • Ellis Bullock, Executive Director, Grotto Foundation, Inc.
  • Dan Cramer, Co-founder, Grassroots Solutions
  • Steve Cramer, President, Minneapolis Downtown Council
  • Melisa Franzen, Director, Community Relations, Target Corporation
  • Susan Hill Gross, retired history teacher and Director of the Upper Midwest Women's History Center
  • John Gunyou, Board President, Three Rivers Park District
  • Pham Thi Hoa, Program Officer, Anne Ray Charitable Trust
  • Bernadine Joselyn, Director of Public Policy and Engagement, Blandin Foundation
  • Joseph Kelly, Deputy Director, Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management
  • Dianne Krizan, President, Minnesota Children's Museum
  • Lars Leafblad, Leadership and Engagement Director, Bush Foundation
  • Tim Marx, CEO, Catholic Charities
  • Jon Pratt, Executive Director, Minnesota Council of Nonprofits
  • Steve Rothschild, Founder and President, Invest in Outcomes, and Founder, Twin Cities RISE!
  • David Senjem, Senator, Minnesota Senate
  • Steve Struthers, Executive Director, Global Citizens Network and Intercultural Student Experiences
  • Patricia Torres Ray, Senator, Minnesota Senate

photo of Advisory Group March 12

PNLC Advisory Group
(l to r): Babak Armajani, Steve Rothschild, Susan Gross, Bernadine Joselyn, Michael Anderson, John Gunyou, Lars Leafblad, Pham Thi Hoa, Joseph Kelly.

Not pictured: Ellis Bullock, Dan Cramer, Dianne Krizan, Jon Pratt, David Senjem, Steve Struthers, Patricia Torres Ray

Contact Public + Nonprofit Leadership Center

Humphrey Center
University of Minnesota
301 19th Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455


blogs blogs blogs
blogs blogs blogs
blogs blogs blogs
blogs blogs blogs

Connect with Us

  • facebook
  • flickr
  • youtube
  • twitter