University of Minnesota
myU OneStop

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is the University of
Minnesota's school of policy and planning.

Honorary Degree

The Honorary Degree is the highest award conferred by the University of Minnesota. The recipient has achieved acknowledged eminence in cultural affairs, in public service, or in a field of knowledge and scholarship.

The Humphrey School has awarded the following honorary degrees:

Norman J. Ornstein, Doctor of Laws—2007
James A. Johnson, Doctor of Laws—2006
Charles M. Denny, Jr., Doctor of Laws—2006
L. Bruce Laingen, Doctor of Laws—2005
Viviane Wade, Doctor of Laws—2004
Abdoulaye Wade, Doctor of Laws—2004
Muriel Humphrey Brown, Doctor of Laws—1997
Yoweri Museveni Kaguta, Doctor of Laws—1994